About ACON


Opposites Attract Study


Finalists Announced For 2011 Honour Awards

7 September 2011

The 2011 Honour Award Finalists have been revealed

A diverse and inspirational mix of 25 people and organisations have been announced as finalists for the 2011 Honour Awards.

Now in their fifth year, the Honour Awards are an annual event which recognise outstanding achievements within or contributions to NSW's gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (GLBT) community. The awards are also a gala fundraising event for ACON, NSW's and Australia's largest GLBT health and HIV/AIDS organisation.

The 25 finalists were selected from over 100 nominations received across six categories covering the business, health, education, community, legal, political, media and cultural sectors.

(NB! - All finalists are listed below this media release)

The winners will be presented with a range of gifts and prizes at a gala ceremony and cocktail party at The Ivy in Sydney on Thursday 29 September.

ACON CEO Nicolas Parkhill says the judges were impressed with the quality and variety of nominations. "The judging panel noted that selecting the finalists was a difficult process because the achievements and contributions of all the nominees were remarkable in their own way," Mr Parkhill says.

"However, the judges agreed that the finalists they selected exhibited a truly outstanding commitment to supporting the GLBT community and deserved to be recognised for their efforts.

"I congratulate all the finalists and look forward to them and other members of our community coming together to celebrate their achievements at the Honour awards ceremony at the Ivy on 29 September."

Mr Parkhill says money raised from tickets sales and a silent auction on the night will help fund ACON's vital work in the community.

"While ACON gets a significant amount of funding from NSW Health, that money can only be spent on work we do in relation to HIV/AIDS," he says. "Our broader work in relation to GLBT health and wellbeing - such as alcohol and other drugs, lesbian health, anti-violence, mental health, ageing, community care and advocacy - is financed by one off grants, fundraising activities and donations."

"To keep this important work going, we rely on the generosity of people and organisations in our community. By coming along to the Honour Awards, community members, their friends and associates can celebrate the dynamic spirit of our community and, at the same time, raise money to help ACON build our community's health and wellbeing."


2011 Honour Awards - Finalists

Business Award

(presented by Sydney Gay and Lesbian Business Association)

  • The Bookshop Darlinghurst - iconic Sydney GLBTIQ business with over 20 years of service to the GLBT community and significant supporter of GLBT charities
  • Sweet Telecom - gay owned and operated telecommunications business and supporter of GLBT charities
  • Dr Ben Hanson & Associates - Oxford St medical practice with 15 years of service to the GLBT community and people with HIV
  • Hautes Vacances - boutique GLBTIQ travel agency and long time supporter of Australian Marriage Equality


Business Person Award

(presented by Sydney Gay and Lesbian Business Association)

  • Gail Hewison and Libby Silva - through their work at The Feminist Bookshop, these two women have been a pioneering force in the lesbian and same-sex attracted women's community for over 30 years
  • Jodie Maurer - proprietor of Maurer & Strange Upholstery who has created a successful business in the male dominated field of furniture design and upholstery
  • Jo Piggott - proprietor of Imago Health, a successful new mental health first aid and percussion therapy consultancy in Newcastle


Media/Arts/Entertainment Award

(presented by Foxtel)

  • Mark Alsop - veteran GLBT community DJ and significant supporter of GLBT community organisations and events
  • Monique Schafter - Hungry Beast presenter/journalist, commentator, broadcaster and producer/supporter of GLBT community events
  • Beverly Buttercup - producer/hostess of Queer Out West with 30 years of service to Western Sydney's GLBT community
  • David Marr - leading Australian journalist, author and GLBT rights advocate


Health and Wellbeing Award

(presented by GLYDE Health)

  • Jeff Lees and Mike Moore - co-founders of Blacktown Outdoors Group and Positive Pottery
  • Penny Gulliver - founder of Gay and Lesbian Martial Arts with 20 years of service to the GLBT community
  • Sydney Convicts Rugby Club - ground-breaking sporting club for gay men which promotes healthy lifestyles and social diversity
  • Bernie Green - inspirational health promoter, mentor, carer, fundraiser, volunteer and GLBT community leader in New England and North West NSW


Community Organisation Award

(presented by New Mardi Gras)

  • The Pinnacle Foundation - provides scholarships to marginalised and/or disadvantaged GLBTIQ young people
  • Inner City Legal Centre - has provided vital assistance to thousands of GLBT clients and advocated for GLBT-related law and policy reform for over 30 years
  • Tropical Fruits - has provided over 20 years of outstanding social and cultural development for the Northern Rivers GLBT community
  • Acceptance Sydney - for 40 years has provided support for GLBT Catholics, their family and friends and has advocated for GLBT rights in religious and secular settings


Community Hero Award

(presented by ACON)

  • Ulo Klemmer - exceptional GLBT community health promoter, volunteer and fundraiser with over 25 years of service to the GLBT community
  • Gina Wilson - groundbreaking intersex rights advocate with more than 15 years of service to Australia's intersex community
  • Dave Sergeant - over 35 years of service to the GLBT community as founder and director of Country Network, Australia's oldest association for GLBT people living in regional and rural Australia
  • Anthony Venn Brown - founder of Freedom 2 b[e] and a leading mentor and advocate for GLBT people from Christian backgrounds



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.


For more information or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact us.

Contact: Andrew Hamadanian, Media and Communications Officer, ACON

Tel: (02) 9206 2044  
Mobile: 0419 555 768 

Email: ahamadanian@acon.org.au